Archive | The Four Noble Truths

The Four Noble Truths: Pragmatic Buddhism

The Four Noble Truths describe the path to the cessation of suffering. The First Noble Truth: Life Means Suffering. This is the nature of existence. The Second Noble Truth: The Origin of Suffering is Attachment to the Impermanent The Third Noble Truth: The Cessation of Suffering is Attainable The Fourth Noble Truth: The Eightfold Path to the Cessation of Suffering […]

Continue Reading

The First Noble Truth: Life Means Suffering

To live means to suffer, because the human nature is not perfect and neither is the world we live in. During our lifetimes, we inevitably have to endure physical suffering such as pain, sickness, injury, tiredness, old age, and eventually death; and we have to endure psychological suffering like sadness, fear, frustration, disappointment, and depression. […]

Continue Reading

The Third Noble Truth: The Cessation of Suffering is Attainable

“Nirodha” is a Sanskrit term meaning the unmaking of sensual craving and conceptual attachment – that is, the cessation of suffering and its causes. The third noble truth expresses the idea that suffering can end by attaining dispassion. Nirodha extinguishes all forms of clinging and attachment. This means that suffering can be overcome through human […]

Continue Reading

Translate »